Nanyang Polytechnic

Nanyang Polytechnic (NYP) was established on 1st April 1992 in Singapore. Majority of Polytechnic in Singapore admit students after middle school. Some diploma courses such as Biomedical Science are awarded after 3 years of studies.

Nanyang Polytechnic details:
Location: Ang Mo Kio
Established: 1992
Campus: 30 hectares
Type: Public
Administrative Staff: 1,400
Students: 15,000
Principal: Ms. Jeanne Liew
Motto: The Innovative Polytechnic

Nanyang Polytechnic Beside Bukit Sembawang Nim Collection

The first batch students to be enrolled in this Polytechnic were School of Business Management and School of Health Science in July 1992. The School of Information Technology and School of Engineering were later opened in 1993. In February 1993 three institutes namely German-Singapore, Japan- Singapore, and French-Singapore were transferred to the Polytechnic from Economic Development Board. Nanyang Polytechnic is close to Nim Collection which are landed properties at Nim Road right next to Central Expressway (CTE). Nim Collection now sits on a 99 years leasehold development land at no building restrictions.

The Polytechnic moved to its permanent location, Ang MO Kio in April 1998 after operating under temporary campuses (Outram: Nursing School, Yishun: Information Technology and Engineering Schools, Bukit Merah: Business School, Tiong Bahru: Business School, Jurong: Engineer School). The School of Life Sciences and Design was started in 2000 November, followed by School of Interactive in 2006 November and later Digital Media School in 2006 November. Ms. Jeanne Liew, the Principal, was handed over from Mr. Chan Lee Mun.

Nanyang Polytechnic Seletar Hills Nim Collection

The campus which is situated next to Yio Chu Kang MRT Station covers over 305,00 square metres. There are 14 administration blocks, 3 blocks for staff accommodation and 3 blocks for recreational. Various sports activities include table tennis, basketball, adventure challenge park, swimming pool which is Olympic-Sized, ping pong, gym, and rock climbing walls.

There are seven academic schools offering different courses.
School of Health Sciences
School of Chemical and Life Sciences
School of Business Management
School of Design
School of Information Technology
School of Engineering
School of Interactive and Digital Media

The minimum duration for courses takes between three to four years where the students are awarded Diploma after completion. The graduates can decide to continue their education or join the workforce. A recognition system was initiated in 2008 for those who excel academically.

Awards and Student Achievements
The polytechnic has won numerous awards namely:
Work- Life Achiever (2012)
Singapore Quality (2011)
Public Service Achievement (2010)
Innovation Excellence (2009)
E- Human Resource Management Award (2009)
Hewitt Best Employer (2009)
BCA Green Mark Platinum (2005)
Conservation Best Practices (2004)
Certifications in 2001, 2000,1999 and 1996 in various activities.

Bukit Sembawang Estates Nim Collection Landed Property

There are various accolades that students have achieved both national and international level.
Leipzig WorldSkills in 2013 (2 golds and 3 Excellence Medallion)
FIRA RoboWorld Cup in 2012 ( 7 Gold, 3 Silver and 2 Bronze, World Record for 6-metre sprint)
SLA Spatial Challenge in 2012
Singapore WorldSkills in 2012 ( 21 medals )
Tan Kah Kee Young Inventors in 2012 ( 7 awards)
National Infocomm Champions in 2012
Global WorldSkills in 2010 (2 golds, 1 bronze, 3 Excellence Medallion)

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.